WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card


legislature-House-in-session-

The WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card Can be Viewed Here

Click here to find your representative.

The following articles, written during (and after) the legislative session will explain why WFE took the position we did on the bills we graded.  -All calls to action on these things have ended- WFE did not grade HB97 –Education State  Administration, because though we were opposed to it, we understand why many voted to introduce the bill, as at the time it was the only Common Core bill, as HB168 -Stop Common Core Initiatives in Wyoming did not yet have a number.

The WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card can be viewed here

Act NOW to Keep Obama’s Preschool for All out of Wyoming -Tell Reps NO on HB26 and HB81

***UPDATE 2/12/14 12:00 p.m. : Because of  YOUR e-mails, HB26 did not receive the 2/3 vote required to be introduced. Let’s do the same thing with HB81!***

“The education of all children, from the moment that they can get along without a mother’s care, shall be in state institutions.” -Karl Marx

Many of you know that we are in the forefront in the fight to Stop Common Core in Wyoming, but Wyoming Freedom in Education is also fighting for the educational rights for our children and their parents. There are 2 bills that are of grave concern to usHB0026 and HB0081.These bills vastly increase state government and agency control, and from what we can tell from a letter from the White House about President Obama’s Preschool for All,federal control, over early childhood education programs. 

 “Give me 4 years to teach the children, and the seed I have sown, will never be uprooted” -Vladimir Lenin

This is a giant step toward lowering the compulsory school attendance age, and will only increases the government’s involvement in the early education years of our children. This infringes upon parental rights and freedoms to make the best possible educational decision for their children. Not only that, but research has shown that early childhood education has no bearing on over-all academic performance in later years.

Read more Act NOW to Keep Obama’s Preschool for All out of Wyoming -Tell Reps NO on HB26 and HB81
The WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card can be viewed here

Beware of Trojan Horse Bills HB0097 and HB0124

Contact your legislators today, and tell them that a weak and vulnerable anti-Common Core bill is not sufficient for making sure Common Core in Wyoming is stopped dead in its tracks.

There is another, that is sponsored by Common Core and SF104 cheerleaders Matt Teeters and Hank Coe, more on that later. 

HB0097, not only has some VERY dangerous language pertaining to data sharing, it also parrots the same Obama Administration approved language that the Common Core Standards does.

The 34 page HB0097 gives blind trust to the US Department of Education concerning data sharing, saying that “Unless” the US Department of Education “agrees in writing” that data will not be shared beyond a certain point. And of course unless it is tied to federal funding or grants.

Do they forget it was enticement of federal monies that brought us to this point in the first place? And what makes them think the US Department of Education can be trusted to keep their word?

If these other groups truly wanted to Stop Common Core in Wyoming, they would support a clear and concise, no compromise bill, not a 34 page long bill that leaves the door wide open. 

And then there HB0124, Sponsored by Matt Teeters and Hank Coe… Common Core Cheerleaders who have mocked you and I when we have addressed them with our concerns about Common Core…

Read more Beware of Trojan Horse Bills HB0097 and HB0124
The WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card can be viewed here

We Support HB0168 to STOP Common Core in Wyoming

I am writing to you today, to urge you to support HB0168.

This is an 8 page bill that will do exactly what we want: Stop Common Core in Wyoming and all that goes with it, but it will not see the light of day without your activism.  We cannot do this without your support. I need you to contact your house representatives immediately and tell them to support  HB0168  (You can read the bill here).

HB0168 is  piece of legislation that puts an immediate end to the Common Core standards  and the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium, as well as limiting the Statewide Longitudinal Data System and, preventing the adoption of the Next Generation Science Standards, and any other standards not originating in Wyoming.

While you may hear murmurs of other bills, HB0168 is the only bill that does not give the power of unelected bureaucrats to have the last say, nor does it take the US Department of Education at its word.

It is because of this, that we, as citizens, parents, grandparents, and educators in Wyoming need to take a stand and support HB0168the only  bill that we support to Stop Common Core in Wyoming. 

I again urge you to contact your house representatives immediately  and tell them to support HB0168 & Stop Common Core in Wyoming. Now is the time to make your voice heard! The education of the children of Wyoming depend on it!

The WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card can be viewed here

HB97 -”Better than Nothing” Just Isn’t Good Enough

Your children are too precious to have to settle for “It’s better than nothing”.

That is why as  Wyoming Freedom in Education/ Stop Common Core in Wyoming founding members, Lisa Glauner and I attended the -full to the point of being standing room only- Education Committee meeting in room 302 at the Wyoming State Capitol on Monday, February 17th, 2014.

The bills that were to be discussed were HB97, HB114, and HB124, but due to the two hours of public testimony, and nearly 2 more hours of the amendment adoption process on HB97, there just wasn’t time to address HB114 – State board of education-members, and HB124 – Education-content and performance standards.

At the meeting, I testified against HB97 -Education-state administration.

Though armed with a long list of concerns with HB97, I shared only a few of our biggest ones, in the interest of time, since it seemed many people would want to testify. The concerns I addressed were:

  • Prior to HB97 being introduced, the bill sponsor said that the bill needed a lot of work and proponents of the bill said “We have to pass the bill so we can fix it. “
  • Bureaucracy: The advisory board in this bill would be appointed by the Governor appointed State Board of Education. Then the appointed advisory board would then appoint up to 9 different subcommittees with at least 13 people a piece. (This number has changed with amendments) That is a minimum of 132 people who aren’t accountable to the people of Wyoming. (see pgs. 2-5 of HB97)
  • Another concern was the language in the data collection portion of the bill, beginning on pg 18, and on at least 6 different pages of the bill. At first it seems as though this bill puts an abrupt end to data sharing… but then there are exceptions, especially when it comes to receiving federal money….that is as long as the US Department of Education or other entity agrees in writing. (Following the public testimony, all sections and pages concerning data sharing were omitted from HB97, by way of amendment**)
  • And the vague language in HB97 leaves cracks that would allow for “repeal and replace”. We are not interested in replacing Common Core, we do not want national standards, period.  There are people in Wyoming who are capable of writing the academic standards for the children who live in Wyoming.
Read more HB97 -”Better than Nothing” Just Isn’t Good Enough
The WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card can be viewed here

HB110 Will Save the Day! But We Need Your Help.

SF106 -State Education Administrationthe bill that calls for “a special session to figure out how to clean up the mess our legislators made with SF104, so they can come out looking good for elections” will be up Monday, March 3rd, 2014 in the House. SF106, could cost the taxpayers more than $600,000, and would bring the total taxpayer dollars spent on SF104 to almost $2Million.

And yet, the Wyoming Supreme Court refused to re-hear SF104 (the “Hill bill”) case, and continue to stand by their ruling that SF104 is unconstitutional. That alone should make anything in SF104 null and void. A special session just isn’t necessary. SF106, should be in the trash…but it is on the General File in the House instead.

Fatally wounded during the first week of the 2014 legislature, HB110, should be resurrected to solve the problem once and for all.

HB110- Superintendent of public instruction duties is “an act relating to government administration; eliminating the position of a director of the department of education; amending and transferring specified duties to the state superintendent; requiring reporting; providing for transition; and providing for an effective date.”

Read more HB110 Will Save the Day! But We Need Your Help.

 

The WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card can be viewed here

Politicians, Double Speak and Common Core… Oh My!

Wyoming Freedom in Education supported the only bill in the 2014 legislative session that would have:

  • Stopped Common Core dead in its tracks
  • Permanently prevented renaming or re-branding the Common Core Standards
  • Permanently prevented the adoption of the Next Generation Science Standards and any other academic standards not originating in Wyoming
  • Prohibited Wyoming from belonging to and participating in the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium or any other testing consortium not originating in Wyoming.  
  • And prohibited data sharing through the Statewide Longitudinal Data System, especially in connection to the Common Core Standards Initiatives, including the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium, or any other standards or testing consortium not originating in Wyoming.

That bill, was HB 168 -Stop Common Core Initiatives in Wyoming. And it failed introduction.

Those Representatives that voted NO, killing HB168 before it could even make an appearance in committee were:

Representative(s)

Rosie.Berger@wyoleg.gov; Stan.Blake@wyoleg.govDave.Blevins@wyoleg.gov;

Gregg.Blikre@wyoleg.gov; Kermit.Brown@wyoleg.gov; James.Byrd@wyoleg.gov;

Rita.Campbell@wyoleg.gov; Cathy.Connolly@wyoleg.gov; Ken.Esquibel@wyoleg.gov;

Lee.Filer@wyoleg.gov; John.Freeman@wyoleg.gov; Patrick.Goggles@wyoleg.gov; 

Mike.Greear@wyoleg.gov; Matt.Greene@wyoleg.gov; Steve.Harshman@wyoleg.gov;

Elaine.Harvey@wyoleg.gov; Norine.Kasperik@wyoleg.gov; Lloyd.Larsen@wyoleg.gov;

Tom.Lockhart@wyoleg.gov; Tom.Lubnau@wyoleg.gov; Mike.Madden@wyoleg.gov;

David.Miller@wyoleg.gov; Bob.Nicholas@wyoleg.gov;

David.Northrup@wyoleg.gov; John.Patton@wyoleg.gov; Ruth.Petroff@wyoleg.gov;

Tom.Reeder@wyoleg.gov; Albert.Sommers@wyoleg.gov;

Tim.Stubson@wyoleg.gov; Matt.Teeters@wyoleg.gov; Mary.Throne@wyoleg.gov;

Tom.Walters@wyoleg.gov; Sue.Wilson@wyoleg.gov; 

David.Zwonitzer@wyoleg.gov; Dan.Zwonitzer@wyoleg.gov;

 Read the full vote on HB168 here

Read More Politicians, Double Speak and Common Core… Oh My!

The WFE 2014 House Voting Record Report Card Can be Viewed Here